Monsters in the Midst.

art, monsters, night

In my attempt to age gracefully, I am growing more uncomfortable with the truth of human interaction. I come from a distant, blended family–built on stubbornness and violent frustration. It is my hope to never want for anything, while I own my individual quest for excellence. Sometimes, I sacrifice the internal fires of the ones I love without a second moments thought.

I am here in part, because a woman desperately sought to continue her line. She chose an act of love, of determination–and no one could convince her otherwise. I am a fact. The result of two people choosing to advance their union. They saw something worth fighting for in a world full of the lost.

Family–was their answer to a lonely existence.

We wrap fragile hearts in a parallel journey. Still, some will not comprehend the gravity of combining their lives. You will quarrel bitterly and resent your other half. Maybe, you will throw a decades old friendship away because you lost your mind. Only to recover it when it is too late to make amends.

I am a tattered end. There are nights I cannot recognize my eyes behind tears I cry when I am sure no one is looking. I question my ability to be wiser and think, wisdom is not worth the trouble of this hazardous road. What good is hindsight if you leave a trail of damage in your wake?

It costs nothing to be a good person, but the price of being innocent is always pain. Even then, the victim is never completely blameless. Monsters dwell in dark spaces under our beds–waiting until you gain your courage…before they take everything you have. I think about how I have become a villain in the narrative of certain peoples lives. How, at one point in time I was a little girl whose own family was infiltrated.

Someone, huffed and puffed and blew my house down.

Knowing a strong foundation could never be knocked to the ground.

8 thoughts on “Monsters in the Midst.

  1. Hello there,

    I’m truly appreciating your words right now — they’re beautiful, moving, and memorable! I’m currently looking for writers to add to my Journal’s magazine, The Wire’s Dream, creative non-fiction section and I’m interested in featuring you and your work. I would like to feature “Monsters in the Midst” and “The Warrior’s Revelry: 2017” because I think they’re both extremely powerful. Is that something you would consider?

    All submitters are featured with an interview alongside their work; and all become part of the magazine’s collection. I consider all submitters as part of the Journal’s family and I will always treat them with respect and value. If you’re concerned about copyrights, know that my intention isn’t malicious. All submitters retain their copyrights. I aim to share what I see as good work with other readers in hopes that they’re inspired too.

    Please let me know either way, yes or no, if this is something you’ll agree to do! And please take a look at the Journal for more info: theblacklionjournal.wordpress.com

    If you have questions, please feel free to contact me or leave a comment! I’ll get back to you asap.

    Christina

    • Hi Christina,
      Firstly, thank you so much for the extreme compliments regarding my writing. I am checking out your site as we speak and would love the opportunity to reach your readers in any way that you feel can be beneficial. Please let me know what you need from me.
      -Jennifer

      • Hi Jennifer,

        Wonderful! Thank you for talking a look! I truly appreciate it. “Monsters in the Midst” and “The Warrior’s Revelry: 2017” caught my attention and I would like to feature them, if you agree. I’m also open for other work that you would like to share, either now or in the future. If you can, I would need both works in documents along with a mini bio (and bio picture or avatar) attached. If you can give me a few days, I’ll send you a few questions for a mini interview that’ll accompany your work. You can send everything to this email: theblacklionjournal [at] gmail.com. If you have questions, feel free to email me there or send me a comment!

        Thank you so much; I look forward to featuring you!

        Christina

Leave a Reply

